Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Euro Duty For Irish Clarets

Season not over for Burnley players as internationals beckon

20 May 2019

The Clarets’ trio of Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady and Kevin Long are confirmed inclusions in the Republic of Ireland squad for their Euro 2020 qualifying double-header next month.

Boss Mick McCarthy has trimmed his provisional party down to 27 players for the Group D ties away to Denmark on 7 June and home to Gibraltar on 10 June.

Hendrick, Brady and Long all retain their places and will be looking to help Ireland build on a 100 per cent start from their opening two games.

Clarets captain Tom Heaton was last week named in England’s squad for their Nations League Finals campaign in Portugal.

And Burnley are likely to have further representation in the Euro qualifiers with Johann Berg Gudmundsson’s Iceland facing Group H ties at home to Albania and Turkey and Matej Vydra’s Czech Republic entertaining Bulgaria and Montenegro in Group A

Republic of Ireland Squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Egan (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City).

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Luca Connell (Bolton Wanderers), Josh Cullen (Charlton Athletic*), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth).

Forwards: David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Callum Robinson (Preston North End).

* On loan

Advertisement block