Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

England Expects!

Tom Heaton aims for Nations League glory as part of Clarets' proud tradition

4 June 2019

Clarets captain Tom Heaton is part of the England squad hoping to become the first winners of the Uefa Nations League when the inaugural finals take place this week.

England have qualified for the four-team tournament and face the Netherlands in Portugal on Thursday evening.

Jack Cork.jpg

Jack Cork and Michael Keane both won their first England caps against Germany

Michael Keane.jpg

Victory would set up a final in Porto on Sunday evening against either Switzerland or the host nation to decide the winners – with the third-fourth place-play off scheduled for earlier in the day.

Heaton is one of three goalkeepers in Gareth Southgate’s squad following his return to international duty earlier this season.

John Connelly.jpg

John Connelly is Burnley's most capped post-war England player

One of 29 Burnley players to represent England – four of whom are currently at Turf Moor – only seven Clarets have been capped more times than Heaton, who has three senior appearances to his name.

And Heaton’s involvement in the Nations League bring back memories of previous international forays for Burnley’s proud Lions.

Martin Dobson.jpg

Martin Dobson (fifth in line) was the last Burnley player to be capped for England before Tom Heaton

Burnley's England players

Nick Pope (2018), 1 Cap
James Tarkowski (2018), 2 Caps
Jack Cork (2017), 1 Cap
Michael Keane (2017), 2 Caps
Tom Heaton (2016-2017), 3 Caps
Martin Dobson (1974), 4 Caps
Ralph Coates (1970-1971), 2 Caps

Gordon Harris.jpg

Gordon Harris (dark shirt, fourth from the right) was part of the England 1966 'Possibles'

Gordon Harris (1966), 1 Cap
Ray Pointer (1961), 3 Caps
John Angus (1961), 1 Cap
Brian Miller (1961), 1 Cap
John Connelly (1959-1963), 10 Caps

Colin McDonald.jpg

Colin McDonald was an ever-present at the 1958 World Cup finals

Colin McDonald (1958), 8 Caps
Brian Pilkington (1954), 1 Cap
Billy Elliott (1952), 5 Caps
Jack Bruton (1928-1929), 3 Caps
Louis Page (1927), 7 Caps
George Waterfield (1927), 1 Cap
Jack Hill (1925-1927), 8 Caps
Jerry Dawson (1921-1922), 2 Caps
Bob Kelly (1920-1925), 11 Caps
Edwin Mosscrop (1914), 2 Caps
William Watson (1913-1919), 3 Caps
Tommy Boyle (1913), 1 Cap
Bert Freeman (1912), 3 Caps
Billy Bannister (1901), 1 Cap
John Hillman (1899), 1 Cap
Jimmy Crabtree (1894-1895), 3 Caps
Jack Yates (1889), 1 Cap

Brian Miller.jpg

Brian Miller won his solitary cap against Austria

Ray Pointer.jpg

Ray Pointer scored twice in three England appearances

Ralph Coates.jpg

Ralph Coates was called up for a 1972 European Championship qualifier just before he left Turf Moor

Pope England debut.jpg

Nick Pope and James Tarkowski hope to add to their England caps

Tarkowski action Italy.jpg

Advertisement block