Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mee Confirmed as Captain

Squad numbers registered with the Premier League for 2019/20 season

9 August 2019

The Clarets have confirmed their squad numbers for the 2019/20 Premier League season.

Ben Mee will captain the club, following the departure this summer of Tom Heaton.

The long-serving defender steps up from his position as vice-captain.

And having previously skippered the team in a stand-in role, Mee - who will lead the Clarets out for the season-opener against Southampton at Turf Moor on Saturday - is honoured to have been appointed in an official capacity.

He said: "I’ve worn the armband in plenty games before, but that always felt I was filling in while Tom was the captain.

"A couple of years ago I pretty much did the whole season as skipper, and half a season last year, but it will be nice to do the role properly and permanently as the club captain, which is a really proud position to have."

1 Nick Pope (GK)
2 Matthew Lowton
3 Charlie Taylor
4 Jack Cork
5 James Tarkowski
6 Ben Mee (C)
7 Johann Berg Gudmundsson
8 Danny Drinkwater
9 Chris Wood
10 Ashley Barnes
11 Dwight McNeil
12 Robbie Brady
13 Jeff Hendrick
14 Ben Gibson
15 Bailey Peacock-Farrell (GK)
16 Steven Defour
18 Ashley Westwood
19 Jay Rodriguez
20 Joe Hart (GK)
23 Erik Pieters
25 Aaron Lennon
26 Phil Bardsley
27 Matej Vydra
28 Kevin Long
30 Adam Legzdins (GK)
34 Jimmy Dunne


Advertisement block