Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Clarets Trio Named In PFA Team of the Year

28 April 2014

Three Burnley players have been rewarded for excellent seasons by being named in the Professional Footballers Association’s Team of the Year for the 2013/14 campaign.

Defenders Kieran Trippier and captain Jason Shackell make up half of the back four, with England U21 striker Danny Ings selected alongside Ross McCormack in the front line.

The team is voted for by fellow professionals, who have included Trippier for the second season running after another impressive campaign that included 14 goal assists.

As well as his attacking threat, Trippier is part of the meanest defence in the league, alongside Shackell at the heart of a back line that has conceded just 35 goals in 45 games, picking up 19 clean sheets in the process.

Shackell, who lifted Burnley’s Championship runner-up trophy after the game against Ipswich Town on Saturday, has featured in every minute of every game in all competitions this season and his solidarity and consistency has more than earned his place in the side.

The Claret’s third member of the Team of the Year has risen to the challenge of replacing last season’s top scorer, Charlie Austin. Ings has done just that, scoring 21 league goals and striking a formidable partnership with Sam Vokes that has reaped over 40 goals between them.

It caps a remarkable campaign for the Southampton-born striker, who also won the Championship Player of the Year, voted for by his peers, after winning the Sky Bet Player of the Month gong for October. 

2013/14 Championship PFA Team of the Year:  Schmeichel (Leicester), Trippier (Burnley), Cresswell (Ipswich), Morgan (Leicester), Shackell (Burnley), Drinkwater (Leicester), Reid (Nottingham Forest), Bryson (Derby), Hughes (Derby), Ings (Burnley), McCormack  (Leeds).

Advertisement block