Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Grant The Fans' Favourite

1 May 2013

Keeper Lee is Supporters Player of the Year

Lee Grant was the big winner at the fans’ Player of the Year awards night on Tuesday night.

The Clarets keeper scooped the overall award after being nominated as Player of the Season by four supporters clubs. Top goalscorer Charlie Austin netted three awards.

Grant has kept 11 clean sheets and been a model of consistency as an ever present in the league campaign.

Other Player of the Season awards were presented to leading goalscorer skipper Jason Shackell and winger Ross Wallace.

Austin was also the recipient of two Goal of the Season gongs for his long-range strike at Charlton in March, while striker partner Sam Vokes was remembered for his equalising goal v Blackburn Roves, which was nominated as ‘Moment of the Season’ by the Sheffield Clarets.

The night was rounded off by a Special Recognition Award to Kieran Trippier following his inclusion in the PFA Championship team of the season and a Special Achievement Award, presented to former skipper Martin Dobson in the week that saw Burnley celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Second Division title success at Preston.

And the inaugural Janice Fretwell Memorial Trophy, named in honour of the lifelong fan who passed away earlier this year, went to Burnley Football Club catering manager Chris Gibson for assistance in helping Janice continue to attend games while fighting he long battle with cancer.

The fans’ annual awards night proceeds the official Player of the Year night, which takes place at Turf Moor this Sunday, May 5, (6.30pm).



Individual Supporters Clubs’ Player of the Year: 

Barrowford Clarets: LEE GRANT


Central Lancs Clarets: LEE GRANT

London Clarets: CHARLIE AUSTIN

Earby Clarets:  JASON SHACKELL

North Manchester Clarets : LEE GRANT

Rossendale Clarets: ROSS WALLACE

Accrington Clarets: LEE GRANT

Burnley Supporters Club: CHARLIE AUSTIN

Other awards

Accrington Clarets: Goal of the Season: CHARLIE AUSTIN (Charlton, Away)

Burnley Supporters Club: Away Player of the Season: DEAN MARNEY
Goal of the Season: CHARLIE AUSTIN (Charlton, Away)

Sheffield Clarets: Moment of the Season:  SAM VOKES (Equaliser v Blackburn Rovers, Home)

Special Achievement Award: Martin Dobson

Special Recognition Award: Kieran Trippier

Janice Fretwell Memorial Trophy: Chris Gibson, Catering Manager at Burnley FC.

Advertisement block