Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

U23s Start Out Against Cardiff City

Professional Development League fixtures 2018/19

6 August 2018

The Clarets’ Under-23s kick off their Professional Development League programme with a home game against Cardiff City.

The Bluebirds visit Curzon Ashton on Monday, 13 August (kick-off 7pm).

Burnley are again using the Tameside Stadium for the majority of their home games, although many this season will kick-off at 2pm.

Details for fixtures to be played at Turf Moor are still to be confirmed.

The league – run by the Premier League ­– is split into north and south groups, with the Clarets playing home and away against northern opposition and only once against sides from the south group.

The Clarets will play at Curzon Ashton again this season

And the games against sides from the south will again be played at the start and end of the season.

The Clarets finished second from bottom of the northern group last season in their first year in the league following the award of Category Two status to the club’s Academy set-up.

But after a strong finish under boss Michael Duff – and the additional of several new players to the Development Squad this summer – they will be hoping for better this time around.

Bolton Wanderers won last year’s competition, beating Nottingham Forest in the play-off final.

UNDER 23 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT LEAGUE FIXTURES 2018/19

(Venues and kick-off times may be subject to change)

DATE

OPPOSITION

VENUE

KICK OFF

Mon 13 Aug

Cardiff City

Curzon Ashton

1900

Mon 20 Aug

Coventry City

Ricoh Arena

1300

Tues 28 Aug

Crystal Palace

Curzon Ashton

1400

Mon 3 Sep

Queens Park Rangers

Loftus Road Stadium

1400

Mon 10 Sep

Millwall

 

 

Mon 17 Sep

Bolton Wanderers

 

 

Mon 24 Sep

Hull City

Curzon Ashton

1400

Mon 1 Oct

Crewe Alexandra

Curzon Ashton

1400

Sat 6 Oct

 

 

PL CUP MR1

Mon 15 Oct

Leeds United

Elland Road

1900

Mon 22 Oct

Sheffield Utd

 

 

Mon 29 Oct

Sheffield Wednesday

Middlewood Rd T/G

1300

Mon 5 Nov

Barnsley

 

 

Sat 10 Nov

 

 

PL Cup MR2

Mon 19 Nov

Nottingham Forest

TBC

1400

Sat 24 Nov

Birmingham City

TTTC

12 Noon

Sat 1 Dec

 

 

PL Cup MR3

Mon 10 Dec

Leeds United

 

 

Mon 17 Dec

Sheffield United

Stockbridge

1400

Mon 7 Jan

Sheffield Wednesday

 

 

Fri 11 Jan

Barnsley

Oakwell T/G

1400

Sat 19 Jan

 

 

PL Cup MR4

Mon 28 Jan

Birmingham City

TBC

1400

Mon 4 Feb

Nottingham Forest

Impact Arena Alfreton

1900

Mon 11 Feb

Bolton Wanderers

Lancs FA Leyland

1900

Sat 16 Feb

Hull City

KCOM Stadium

1700 (following 1st Team fixture)

Mon 25 Feb

Crewe Alexandra

Alexandra Park

1300 (PL Cup MR6)

Mon 4 Mar

Ipswich Town

T/G Playford Rd, IP4 5RQ

1300

Mon 11 Mar

Watford

Curzon Ashton

1400

Sat 16 Mar

 

 

PL Cup Round of 16

Mon 25 Mar

Bristol City

Ashton Gate Stadium

1300

Sat 30 Mar

 

 

PL Cup Quarter Final

Mon 8 Apr

Colchester United

TBC

 

Tues 16 Apr

Charlton Athletic

The Valley

1400

 

 

 

 


Advertisement block