Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Keane and Heaton in England Squad

6 November 2016

Michael Keane and Tom Heaton have both been included in the England squad for their up-coming games against Scotland and Spain.

The Clarets' pair are part of a 25-man squad named by acting manager Gareth Southgate for the Wembley double-header.

England play Scotland in a World Cup qualifier on Friday, 11 November before facing Spain in a friendly on Tuesday, 15 November.

Heaton, 30, retains his place and will be looking to add the solitary cap the Clarets' goalkeeper and captain won in May - becoming the first Burnley player to appear for England's senior side since 1974.

Meanwhile, central defender Keane, 23, has been rewarded for his outstanding club form and earns his first inclusion in an original squad from Southgate, who watched the Burnley pair help Sean Dyche's side beat Crystal Palace 3-2 at Turf Moor on Saturday.

Gareth Southgate checked first-hand on Tom Heaton and Michael Keane on Saturday

Keane, a former England under-21 international, was added to the England party for World Cup qualifiers against Malta and Slovenia last month after Everton's Phil Jagielka withdrew through injury but didn't make an appearance.

Both Heaton and Keane have been ever-presents in the Premier League for Burnley so far this season, helping the Clarets climb up to ninth place in the table.

The pair will link up with the England squad at St George's Park on Monday.

England squad:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Torino, loan from Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Michael Keane (Burnley), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (AFC Bournemouth, loan from Arsenal), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Crystal Palace), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City).

Advertisement block