Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

On This Day: May 4th

4 May 2016


Burnley 2-0 Ipswich Town

On this day three years ago the Clarets played their final game at the end of Sean Dyche’s first part season as the Burnley manager, overcoming Ipswich Town to finish eleventh, a slight improvement on the previous campaign when they had finished thirteenth.

Following a goalless first half, substitute Junior Stanislas immediately livened things up when he was introduced ten minutes after the break.

On the hour, he picked up Chris McCann’s pass, powered forward and unleashed an unstoppable drive that took a deflection and flew into the top right hand corner, giving the visiting keeper no chance.

The Clarets finally killed off the Tractor Boys with just a couple of minutes remaining, when Danny Ings’s corner was headed back towards the near post by Danny Lafferty and Martin Paterson applied the final touch.

The manager showed his human side by sending on Brian Jensen for the last two minutes to give the crowd an opportunity to say goodbye to a true Clarets’ legend.

It was Brian’s 310th appearance for Burnley and his only league action of the season. His kick out as the referee put his whistle to his lips to blow for full time was Brian’s only touch of the ball and was the very last act of the Clarets’ 2012-13 campaign.

For the man who Brian replaced, Lee Grant, it was also his final Clarets’ appearance, as it was for Chris McCann and Luke O’Neill, making his Burnley League debut having played just once in the Football League Cup.

It was also a swansong for Martin Paterson who had scored his final Burnley goal just minutes before the end of his Turf Moor career.

It had been Paterson who had scored the very first goal of the Sean Dyche era at Burnley six months earlier, on the first weekend of November 2012, in a 2-0 win against Wolves.

Burnley team (4132):
Lee Grant (Brian Jensen), Kieran Trippier (Luke O’Neill), Kevin Long, Jason Shackell, Danny Lafferty, Brian Stock (Junior Stanislas), Chris McCann, Dean Marney, Martin Paterson, Danny Ings, Sam Vokes.

Advertisement block