Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Arfield Strike Wins Clarets 'Goal of 2015'

28 January 2016

Scott Arfield’s strike against Blackburn Rovers has been named the winner of our Goal of 2015.

The Football League recently launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and we asked Clarets to help us nominate the goal we would put forward for the Football League Awards 2016.

The Scot’s curled effort at Ewood Park in the East Lancashire Derby was a landslide winner in our social media polls, with Matt Taylor’s free-kick against Birmingham coming second.

Arfield’s goal has now been entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central. A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at Manchester Central on 17th April 2016.

Advertisement block