Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ward named in Republic of Ireland squad

25 August 2016

Stephen Ward has been named in Martin O’Neill’s Republic of Ireland squad for fixtures against Oman and Serbia.

Ireland face Oman in a friendly on Wednesday 31 August at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin before the trip to Serbia on Monday 5 September at Stadion FK Crvena Zvezda, Belgrade in their first 2018 World Cup qualifier.

Ward is a part of a 28-man squad that will include Robbie Keane for his farewell appearance after the striker announced his international retirement this week.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), David Forde (Millwall - on loan at Portsmouth)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Derby), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Richard Keogh (Derby), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Alex Pearce (Derby), Marc Wilson (Bournemouth), Paul McShane (Reading)

Midfielders: James McClean (West Brom), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Stephen Quinn (Reading), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), David Meyler (Hull City), Robbie Brady (Norwich), Aiden McGeady (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Bournemouth), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City)

Forwards: Jon Walters (Stoke), Shane Long (Southampton), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich)

Advertisement block