Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Gray Shortlisted For Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year

14 April 2016

Burnley striker Andre Gray is on the three-man shortlist to be named 2016 Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year award.

Gray’s 23 goals this season have helped fire the Clarets promotion challenge and caught the eyes of the judges ahead of Sunday’s night’s Football League Awards dinner in Manchester.

His challengers for the award – previously won by former Clarets striker Danny Ings in 2014 - are Brentford’s Alan Judge and Fulham striker Ross McCormack.

And Burnley will be hoping for double success at this year’s awards, with the club’s community team nominated for Community Club of the Year.

The winner is to be announced at The Football League awards in Manchester on Sunday 17th April.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division.

Each Sky Bet Championship manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top 3 forming the shortlist. 

Previous winners include; Patrick Bamford (2015), Danny Ings (2014), Ricky Lambert (2012), Kevin Phillips (2008) and Phil Jagielka (2007).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Speaking on the award, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: “We are delighted to announce the shortlist for this prestigious award.

"It has been another fantastic season in the Sky Bet Championship and the performances that these three players have shown throughout the season make them very deserving of a place on the shortlist. We look forward to announcing the winner on Sunday evening”.

Other categories include The Football League Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Advertisement block