Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Stand And Deliver

26 August 2015

Fans choose 30 greats to brighten up the walls at Turf Moor...

The vote to choose which famous Burnley players should be displayed on the walls of Turf Moor ended last week and Clarets' fans voted in their numbers for their favourites.

All but three of the thirty selected have either played international football or were part of title or promotion winning teams at Turf Moor, and the exceptions were all iconic figures with one of them scoring arguably the club's most important goal.

Our first ever international Jack Yates is there and he's joined in the pre-war group by FA Cup winning goalscorer Bert Freeman and three other stalwarts of that period either side of World War I; Jerry Dawson, Tommy Boyle and Bob Kelly.

That early group is completed with George Beel, who remains Burnley's all-time leading goalscorer with 188 league and cup goals.

The 1946/47 promotion team is represented by inside-forward Harry Potts, who is alongside five of the 1960 Championship team he managed.

Jimmy McIlroy, not surprisingly, won more votes than any other player and will line up alongside his former team mates Jimmy Adamson (pictured above), John Connelly, Ray Pointer and Burnley's finest ever-servant, Brian Miller.

John Connelly

From the next era, our greatest post-war goalscorer Willie Irvine will also be featured alongside Ralph Coates and four players who were very much part of Adamson's Team of the Seventies. Those are our last England international, Martin Dobson, Welsh international Leighton James, Frank Casper and Peter Noble.

Trevor Steven played only two seasons for the Clarets first team before signing for Everton as a 19-year-old, but Burnley fans saw what a talent he was and he has won a place in the fourth group alongside some very important goalscorers.

He played alongside Billy Hamilton in the early 1980s and the pair of them are in a group with Ian Britton, scorer of that goal against Orient, 1994 Wembley goalscorers David Eyres and Gary Parkinson and finally Andy Payton, whose goals twice kept us up in 1998 and 1999 before taking us up in the following season.

David Eyres and Gary Parkinson

That takes us to the final group from the 21st century, where  Glen Little won a place alongside five players who played in either or both of the teams that won promotion to the Premier League.

From 2009 there is Robbie Blake, Wade Elliott, who scored the Wembley winner, and Graham Alexander. And linking those two teams is Michael Duff.

Robbie Blake

To complete the group Jay Rodriguez, who figured in the 2009 promotion, will be joined by all those mentioned above outside Turf Moor.

Jay Rodriguez: One of our own!

That's it, the thirty players selected by the supporters.

This idea initially came via the Clarets Mad message board, when suggestions for improving Turf Moor were sought, and from there and the Burnley FC Supporters Groups a small group was set up to work with new Chief Executive David Baldwin.

David said: "It's a great idea and will really improve the external image of the club. It's fantastic when the club and fans work together on a project for the good of all."

The next stage is to publish some mock up images before the end of September prior to the final work starting on producing the player boards, ready to be placed on the stand walls.

The complete list as is follows:

George Beel, Tommy Boyle, Jerry Dawson, Bert Freeman, Bob Kelly, Jack Yates, Jimmy Adamson, John Connelly, Jimmy McIlroy, Brian Miller, Ray Pointer, Harry Potts, Frank Casper, Ralph Coates, Martin Dobson, Willie Irvine, Leighton James, Peter Noble, Ian Britton, David Eyres, Billy Hamilton, Gary Parkinson, Andy Payton, Trevor Steven, Graham Alexander, Robbie Blake, Michael Duff, Wade Elliott, Glen Little, Jay Rodriguez.

Advertisement block