Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

On This Day: August 19

19 August 2015


One of the most memorable matches at Turf Moor in many years took place on this day six years ago.

The Red Devils of Manchester United were the visitors as Burnley staged the club’s first match in the top flight of English football since 1976.

United were reigning Premier League Champions (following their title successes in both 2007 and 2008), Football League Cup winners, Community Shield winners, Champions League finalists and FA Cup semi-finalists.

It all counted for nothing on that epic night thanks to a thunderous 19th minute strike from Robbie Blake, not forgetting a 44th minute save by Brian Jensen from a spot kick  by Michael Carrick.

Making his Clarets’ debut was defender Andre Bikey, who was given a warm welcome by the Turf Moor fans. Those same fans of course had jeered the Cameroon international just three months earlier on his final appearance for Reading.

It had been in the first leg of the play-off semi-final and having already conceded the penalty that put the Clarets in command, Bikey was sent off in injury time for a stamp on Robbie Blake. He then risked further punishment by his petulant response, ripping off his shirt on his way to the tunnel.

Burnley team (442): Brian Jensen, Tyrone Mears, Clarke Carlisle, Andre Bikey, Stephen Jordan, Chris McCann, Wade Elliott, Graham Alexander, Robbie Blake, Martin Paterson, Steven Fletcher.
Subs used: Chris Eagles, Joey Gudjonsson, Steven Thompson.


On the opening day of the new campaign Burnley welcomed the previous season’s Second Division Champions Coventry City to Turf Moor for their first-ever game in the top flight.

Frank Casper, signed from Rotherham United in the summer, lined up for the Clarets, and marked his debut by putting his new club ahead on 32 minutes, with Willie Irvine making it 2-0 on the hour.

City scored their very first top flight goal, disappointingly for them, an og by Burnley’s Dave Merrington, 8 minutes from time, final score 2-1 to the Clarets

Burnley team (235): Harry Thomson, John Angus, Les Latcham, Brian O’Neil, Dave Merrington, Sammy Todd, Willie Morgan, Arthur Bellamy, Willie Irvine, Gordon, Harris, Frank Casper.

Advertisement block