Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Dyche and Ings Land North West Honours

18 November 2014

Burnley Football Club enjoyed a double celebration by bagging two major awards at the MBNA Northwest Football of the Year Awards in Manchester.

Clarets boss Sean Dyche beat Manuel Pellegrini, manager of Premier League champions Manchester City and Liverpool manager Brendan Rogers to the coveted North West Manager of the Year Award.

And there was another gong for striker Danny Ings, who followed up his crowning as Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year with the North West award.

The England U21 international, who bagged 21 league goals in the Clarets promotion season, beat off competition from Jordan Rhodes (Blackburn Rovers), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic-now Crystal Palace-) and Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers).

The awards were presented at the prestigious MBNA Northwest Football Awards at the Point, Emirates Old Trafford in an event compered by BBC Television’s Dan Walker, with a highlights show to be broadcast at a later date on BBC Radio Merseyside, BBC Manchester and BBC Lancashire.

We will have full reaction to the awards on Wednesday am on the official website.

A full list of award winners for 2014:

Manager of the Year:
Sean Dyche (Burnley): also nominated-Brendan Rodgers (Liverpool), Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City).

Player of the Year:

Premier League:
Raheem Sterling (Liverpool): also nominated: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), David De Gea (Manchester United).

Rising Star:
Marcos Lopes (Manchester City): also nominated- Ross Barkley (Everton), Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool FC), James Wilson (Manchester United), Josh Brownhill (Preston North End), Tom Cairney (Blackburn Rovers).

Danny Ings (Burnley): also nominated-Jordan Rhodes (Blackburn Rovers), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic-now Crystal Palace-), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers).

League One:
Joe Garner (Preston North End): also nominated-James Wesolowski (Oldham Athletic), Jason Koumas (Tranmere Rovers).
League Two:
Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town): also nominated-Danny Mayor (Bury FC), Ian Henderson (Rochdale FC).

Luke George (Southport): also nominated-Danny Andrew (Macclesfield), Andy Burns (Barrow).

Community Initiative of the Year:
Blackpool FC Community Trust: also nominated-Bolton Wanderers Community Trust, Everton FC, City in the Community, Morecambe FC Community Sports, Wigan Athletic Community Trust.

Community Club of the Year-Premier League:
Everton in the Community: also nominated-City in the Community, Manchester United Foundation.

Community Club of the Year-all other Leagues:
Wigan Athletic: also nominated-Morecambe FC Community Trust, Blackpool, Bolton Wanderers Community Trust.

Best Club Sponsorship/Marketing & Engagement:
Everton: also nominated-Blackburn Rovers, Manchester City, Manchester United.

Professional Services to Football
Mills & Reeve: also nominated-Pinsent Masons.

Business Services to Football Award:
Ripple Effect: also nominated-Complete Sport, Little League Sports.

Journalist of the Year:
David McDonnell (Daily Mirror): also nominated-Tony Barrett, Andy Hunter, Mark Ogden, Jonathan Northcroft, Ian Herbert, Chris Bascombe.

Fabrice Muamba Award for Medical & Sports Science Professional:
Les Parry: also nominated- Joyce Watson, Simon Farnworth, Ian Irvin, Matt (Matthew) Jackson.

Female Player of the Year:
Steph Houghton (Manchester City): also nominated-Nikita Parris (Everton), Fara Williams (Liverpool).

Unsung Hero:
Alan ‘Birdy’ Birkbeck (Blackburn Rovers).

Lifetime Contribution:
Kenny Dalglish.                                                                                                         

Advertisement block