Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Clarets In U21 Premier League Cup

7 October 2013

Wigan head for Turf Moor for opening game of new competition

Burnley have been drawn at home to Wigan Athletic in the qualifying round of the inaugural U21 Premier League Cup.
The Clarets will host the Latics at Turf Moor on Tuesday, October 8 (7pm KO).
Supporters are welcome to attend these games and full ticket details will follow.
The new U21 Premier League Cup is a knock-out U21 cup competition open to all Academies.
Matches are played on a regional basis until the fourth round (round of 16), when the competition becomes national.
All matches, to be played in the club’s home stadiums, consist of players aged U16-U21, although clubs can field up to three older outfield players and one older goalkeeper.
The Clarets are one of 16 Category 3 Academies competing in the first round, split into north and south draws (all category teams are listed below).
The second qualifying round will see the eight successful Category 3 Academy sides drawn against the 17 Category 2 Academies, again on a regional basis (due to odd numbers one team will be awarded a bye).

Should the Clarets progress in round one,  they have already been drawn away in the second qualifying round against Crewe Alexandra


 The third round (32 teams) will see the 19 Category 1 Academies enter the competition, to be joined by the 13 successful Category 2 and Category 3 academies. Again, this will be a regional draw.
After this round, the competition becomes an open draw, with the final being played over two legs at the club’s main stadiums.
Round 1
Category 3 Academies:  
(North): Burnley, Doncaster Rovers, Hull City, Notts County, Preston North End, Wigan Athletic
(South): AFC Wimbledon, Bournemouth, Bristol Rovers, Colchester United, Exeter City, Gillingham, Plymouth Argyle, Torquay United, Watford, Peterborough United.
Round 2:
Category 2 Academies:
(North): Barnsley, Birmingham City, Coventry City, Crewe Alexandra, Derby County, Huddersfield Town, Leeds United, Nottingham Forest, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday
(South): Brighton & Hove Albion, Bristol City, Cardiff City, Crystal Palace, Millwall, QPR, Swansea City
Round 3:
Category 1 Academies:
(North): Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Everton, Leicester City, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Stoke City, Sunderland, West Bromwich Albion, Wolverhampton Wanderers.
(South): Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Fulham, Norwich City, Reading, Southampton, West Ham United.

Advertisement block