Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Coleman Nominated as 'Rising Star'

17 October 2012

Youth Team skipper Alex Coleman Shortlisted For NW Award

Following on from the announcement of the divisional finalists for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards Player of the Year, voting is now open for the 2012 Rising Star Award, which recognises the achievements and potential of some of the region’s most talented young footballers.

Supporters can now cast their vote to back their heroes of the future and help decide which players will receive the various accolades. 
Burnley defender Alex Coleman is the Clarets’ shortlisted player for the accolade, going up against the likes of Blackpool’s Thomas Ince and Martin Kelly of Liverpool.
Fans can vote for their chosen Rising Star online by visiting and through the Northwest Football Awards Facebook account at  

Those submitting their vote also have the opportunity to enter a competition for the chance to win a pair of tickets to the Northwest Football Awards. 
The closing date for fans’ votes is 5pm on Monday 29 October.

Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the finalists that will be competing for various honours at the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.

The awards also celebrate achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement. 
Special categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.

The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:

Rising Star Award
Sam Grimshaw - Altrincham  
Jason Lowe - Blackburn Rovers
Tom Ince - Blackpool 
Andy Kellett - Bolton Wanderers        
Alex Coleman - Burnley         
Andrai Jones - Bury    
Josh Todd - Carlisle United    
Nick Powell - Crewe Alexandra (now with Manchester United)        
Apostolos Vellios - Everton     
Martin Kelly - Liverpool 
James Bolton - Macclesfield Town    
Denis Suarez - Manchester City         
Mats Møller Daehli - Manchester United        
Joe McGee - Morecambe      
Chris Taylor - Oldham Athletic (now with Millwall)     
Danny Mayor - Preston North End (now with Sheffield Wednesday)           
Sam Minihan – Rochdale       
Ian Ormson - Stockport County         
Danny Holmes - Tranmere Rovers    
Tim Chow - Wigan Athletic     

Former Burnley striker Jay Rodriguez will also be going head-to-head with Blackpool defender Alex Baptiste at the awards night as he looks to retain his title as Northwest Championship Player of the Year.
Winners of the Player of the Year awards will also be decided by public votes and Clarets’ fans wanting to support Rodriguez, who scored 21 times last season before joining Southampton in the summer, can vote via the Northwest Football Awards Facebook( and Twitter (@NWFAwards) pages.

Advertisement block