Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Community Award Winners

13 November 2012

Pop-Up Farm Lands BFCPESS NW Gong

Burnley Football Club’s Community scheme were winners at this week’s 2012 Northwest Football Awards.

The BFCPESS (Burnley Football Club Programme for Education, Sport and Society) inspired Pop-Up Farm schools project beat off all the competition to land the award for Community Initiative of the Year.

The honour was handed out by PFA Chief Executive Mr Gordon Taylor at Lancashire Cricket Club on Monday evening.

For more information on Pop-Up Farms,CLICK HERE

Above: Burnley FC Community Liaison Manager Rachel Bradley (left) and Julie Bradley, headteacher of Padiham St Leonard's Primary School, are presented with their award by Gordon Taylor, watched by NWFA 2012 host Dan Walker.

The Pop Up Farm project takes a local perspective on a global challenge. The project integrates six essential themes of sustainable living – energy, water, waste, building, well-being and food growing – and has been implemented in 40 schools across the Burnley area.

The cream of Northwest football gathers annually in Manchester to celebrate the achievements of clubs and individuals based in the region throughout the last 12 months.

The awards, which took place at The Point, Lancashire County Cricket Club and were hosted by BBC sports reporter Dan Walker, featured a whole of host of famous footballing names, including Patrick Vieira, David Moyes and Roberto Martinez. 

Burnley were pipped in two other categories after being shortlisted for Marketing Campaign for the award-winning Clarets Player video Bringing The Boys To You and UCFB College of Football Business’ in the Best Club Sponsorship Engagement/Partnership category.

Former Clarets striker Jay Rodriguez was runner-up in the Championship player of the year, while Development squad centre back Alex Coleman was a guest of the club after being nominated as the club’s Rising Star.
Full List of Winners and Finalists
Lifetime Achievement to Northwest Football: Dave Whelan, Wigan Athletic Chairman
Manager Of the Year: Roberto Mancini – Manchester City
Barclays Premier League Player of the Year:
Winner: Martin Skrtel – Liverpool
Finalists: Antonio Valencia – Manchester United and Vincent Kompany – Manchester City
npower Championship Player of the Year Finalists:
Winner: Alex Baptiste – Blackpool
Finalist: Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton)
npower League One Player of the Year Finalists:
Winner - David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)
Finalists: Kieran Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday) and Lee Miller – Carlisle United
npower League Two Player of the Year Finalists
Winner: Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now at Manchester United)
Finalists: Chris McCready – Morecambe and Padraig Amond - Accrington Stanley
Blue Square Conference Player of the Year Finalists
Winner: Joe Connor – Stockport County
Finalists: Damian Reeves – Altrincham and Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors
Rising Star Award Winner: Martin Kelly – Liverpool
Community Initiative of the Year Winner: Burnley FC PESS
Highly Commended: Bolton Wanderers Community Trust and Morecambe FC Community Sports
Community Club of the Year Winner: Everton in the Community
Highly Commended: Wigan Athletic Community Trust
CSR Campaign of the Year Winner: Liverpool FC
Best Club Marketing Campaign Winner: Manchester City FC
Best Club Sponsorship Engagement/Partnership Winner: AON and Manchester United FC
Northwest Professional Services to Football Winner: Pinsent Masons – Global Sports Group
Northwest Business Services to Football Winner: Rippleffect
Fabrice Muamba Award for Medical & Sports Science Professional of the Year Winner: Andy Mitchell, Head Physiotherapist, Bolton Wanderers FC
Unsung Hero Winner: John Manville, Everton FC

Advertisement block